A third pre-k classroom, which was recently added to the campus at East Lawrence Elementary School, is receiving a grant of $20,000 for classroom supplies and equipment.

The Office of School Readiness Grant will provide the East Lawrence pre-k classroom with supplies including desks, chairs, and supplies for dramatic play and learning stations, similar to grants that were awarded to two other pre-k classrooms in Moulton earlier this year.

Lawrence County now has a total of eight pre-k classrooms countywide, including the new class in East Lawrence. Other campuses with pre-k classrooms include two at the Pre-K Rosenwald Campus in Moulton, one at Hatton Elementary, one at Mount Hope School and one at Speake School.

“East Lawrence had the student demand to instate a third classroom,” Superintendent Jon Bret Smith said. 

Dr. Gina Baggett wrote a grant for the addition of the East Lawrence classroom, Smith added. After the classroom addition was approved, Baggett wrote the grant for the supplies as well.

“We appreciate her taking the initiative to give us the best pre-k we can have,” said Smith. 

The Lawrence County Board of Education approved the $20,000 OSR grant in a special called meeting Monday night. The board also approved an increase in high school, middle school and adult lunch prices for the 2019 to 2020 school year. 

Resignations for Mathew Staggs, an electronics teacher at Lawrence County Career and Technical Center, and Ginger Davis, a countywide pre-k auxiliary teacher, were accepted. 

The board hired countywide Pre-k Teacher Kelsea Wadkins, countywide Pre-k Auxiliary Teacher Janella Thompson, countywide Special Education Paraprofessional Steven Cornelius, countywide Speech and Language Teacher Kristen Whitlow, East Lawrence Middle School Science Teacher Taylor Veillon, Moulton Middle Social Science Teacher Mallori Green, Mount Hope Paraprofessional Amanda Simmons, Mount Hope Bookkeeper Kandance Pickens, and countywide Special Education Teacher Jeffrey Tanner Reed. 

The school board also hired Tony Rutherford as principal for Mount Hope School. 

All board members were present except District 5 Board Member Beth Vinson. The Lawrence County Board of Education will meet again on Monday, July 1, at 6 p.m. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.