MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) — Alabama is joining the states seeking to permanently switch to daylight saving time if the U.S. Congress ever authorizes it.

Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey's office announced Thursday she signed the bill. The legislation was approved by state lawmakers with only one dissenting vote. However, the change cannot take effect unless Congress modifies federal law to allow it.

Similar measures have been popular in statehouses across the country.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 15 states have enacted legislation or passed a resolution to provide for year-round daylight saving time, if Congress were to allow such a change.

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.